Introduction to My Project

10/20/2018

Hello everyone!

Welcome to my Fish ID website. First, I figured I would give you a bit of background information on why I have created this website. I am part of SCUBAnauts International, a youth science and diving non-profit. I have been a naut since 2014. SCUBAnauts is an amazing program for teenagers aged 12-18 who are interested in marine science. Within SCUBAnauts there is a ranking system like Boy Scouts or Girl Scouts. To move up the ranks, a naut must have a certain number of dives, community service hours, chapter service hours, and, sometimes, diving certifications. Starting as a Naut in Training, each naut moves up the ranks until they get to the highest one, Masternaut. To become a Masternaut you must complete a science or conservation project. That is where this website comes in; I am creating a Fish Identification field guide. My field guide will have pictures, descriptions, and data on size, habitat, and abundance for fish species common in the Florida Keys, all produced by myself and my fellow SCUBAnauts. I decided to collect my own pictures because I felt that it is hard to translate what you see in a professionally done photograph into the field where the fish may seem different because natural variation in visibility, light, coloration, and distance. One of my main goals in this project was to make this field guide open to the public, which is YOU, so please enjoy what this website has to offer. Also, please feel free to use any picture for school, a project, or even just personal use.

Thanks for reading!
- Vivian

© 2018 SCUBA Fish ID. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started